Select Page

The Global Advisory Board

A Global initiative

Now in its third year, ICMTRD was established to support and encourage the development of the mental toughness concept with a particular emphasis on practical application which is based on sound evidence.

At the heart of the Center is an Advisory Board which currently consists of circa 30 people who meet 4 times a year. The composition is intended to be balanced between Senior Academics, Senior Practitioners, AQR International staff as well as supporters of the mental toughness concept. Most serve for a minimum of 2 years.

The composition is designed to capture a wide range of interests and expertise. These represent each continent and sectors such as coaching, education, occupational, OD, health, sport, social mobility etc.

A significant element of its purpose is to harness the skills, enthusiasm and interest of stakeholders to:

  • maintain the integrity of the mental toughness concept.
  • maintain consistency of understanding of the concept across the world.
  • identify where research and development of the concept and, in particular, its applications may be usefully directed and supported.
  • develop collaboration between interested parties to create case studies, research papers, and development approaches that are well-evidenced.

ICMTRD, and its Advisory Board, are evolving. As the adoption of the 4Cs concept grows worldwide, so does the network of contacts amongst Universities (now more than 80), practitioner partners and advocates.

The next stage is to expand the Board to enable participants from around the globe to engage in special interest groups to explore the value that the concept and the MTQ measures can bring to specific areas of application.

The current composition of the Board is:

  • Aisha Al Suwaidi
  • Alessia Mevoli
  • Andrew Stotter-Brooks
  • Andy Riise
  • Byung Ok AhN
  • Craig Hamer
  • Dana Tudor Tanase
  • Doug Strycharczyk
  • Dr Alia Al Serkal
  • Dr Brent MacDonald
  • Dr Helen St Clair Thompson
  • Dr John Perry
  • Dr Josiah Igono
  • Dr Kostas Papageorgiou
  • Dr Peter Sewell
  • Dr Suzy Green
  • Fadi Al Attas
  • Floyd Spence
  • Jessie Zhang
  • Joanne Turley
  • Lia Zalums
  • Lucy Julian
  • Mk Lee
  • Oktawia Hryp
  • Paul Lyons
  • Prof Peter Clough
  • Sylwia Rybak
  • Toni Molyneux
  • Zoe Sweet
  • Zoltan Csigas

Amongst other goals is the establishment of a journal through which both research and robust case studies can be published as well as global mental toughness conferences.